On Valentine’s day I met a man by responding to a post in our local Facebook poly group. We began cooresponding and we met the following Friday when he arrived at my home. We visited with one another and it led to us becoming intimate while my husband was present. We chatted quite a bit the first couple of weeks and the second weekend we spent together was equally as satisfying as the first. 

Quickly communication began to deminish as the weeks progressed. We continued to see each other about once a week or so plutonically until this past week when he decided he did not want to be in a relationship with anyone. It hurt when I read the words but it felt good to finally get an actual form of communication from him. I shed a few tears at the stop light on my way to my therapy appointment and reflected on what I have learned in the few short weeks I have known him.

I remembered what it felt like to be excited to see a message​ from him and how giddy I felt in his presence. I felt comfortable with him, but I sensed he was gaurded about something. I looked forward to his presence and the things he said that would happen that never did but I always felt I was more interested than him the entire time and that he wasn’t always truthful. I initiated the conversation, the meetups, extended the invites, and made an effort to talk to him. He did say it was overwhelming at times to have attention from a woman and I tried to give him his space.

I hoped for something that was unrealistic to obtain from the beginning but I allowed the feelings to override my instincts because to be honest it felt really good to feel good after not feeling that way for so many years. I loved that he made me laugh endlessly when I was with him, but I also disliked the disconnect I felt growing between us. The last​ night I went out with him alone I struggled to spend time with him and the night ended on a very bad note when he irresponsibly drove drunk in what I perceived as his efforts to get away from me rather than staying at the venue he had admittedly slept at before. 

He didn’t talk to me or respond to my messages for a few days and told me his phone had been shut off but in the next breath told me that he talks to his ex every morning. I was advised by more than one person to not get attached, but that is easier said than done when it comes to humans and emotions. I felt a connection with him that I had not felt with another man since Andy came back into my life, and of course not of the same calliber, I barely knew and still barely know him. I once again let my guard down and opened up too soon.

The last time he came out with me and my husband unexpectedly and returned home with us but refused to do anything besides snuggle, I knew it was the end. He left the next day and we did not speak for about a day. I messaged him to let him know I had started my period, as I thought it may be a relief for him, and possibly the reason he had been avoiding my advances. I got no response, and after a medical incident I alerted him to on Monday went unanswered I really started to get the hint. 

Yesterday I went to the VA to get my IUD inserted and as a person in an undefined relationship, I decided to tell him. I also told him how I really felt about our situation and current lack of communication. I finally got a response today and although it was not the one I wanted to hear, it is the one that I knew was coming. My husband was hurt by his actions and had been encouraging me to let go of the relationship for weeks at this point, but I held on for some reason. 

I responded as honestly and heartfelt as possible to his statement and I got my true feelings out. While I would like to remain friends with this man, my husband feels he doesn’t deserve my time or energy and has stated he is not welcome at our home. It saddens me that what I had hoped would be a great start to a friendship ended so abruptly, but I also know that part of this process involves my husband and his feelings about those involved in our lives as well.

While I disagree with my husband’s thoughts about my judgements and how I treat others he deems as being unworthy of my affection or kindness, I also know that to continue to grow with my husband I have to be willing to compromise with his feelings and actions as well. While I wish my crush had been more open and honest with me about his feelings, I did learn that my unhealthy patterns of beliefs about myself did return when I was unsure of where I stood with him. It made me anxious and almost nauseated at times to remember how scary it is to be in an undefined relationship.

I realized in my own time that I needed clarification on where he stood and I asked for it when I felt I couldn’t continue to move forward with him without communicating further. I learned that I am capable of  having  positive experiences with people away from my comfort zone, which I have been unable to do in over a decade. I remembered how much I enjoy going out to hear my friends play live music. For a short time, just feeling wanted or desired again was nice to experience as well, even though I know I am by my husband still after ten years. 

Many emotions I had been numb to for so many years were able to be felt in a little over a month, this let’s me know that it is possible I can feel a lot more, and I can feel them about myself for the first time in my life. I may have gotten bruised, but I learned and I grew. The bruise will heal too, in time, and I hope that one day he does find what makes him happy, I wish him well, and hope he gets his life in order in a manner he sees fit. I’ll continue to be in the picture however it plays out and although the outcome was not what I wanted, I was reminded that there were two other people involved that wanted different outcomes in the end. 

Leave a Reply

